The Monuments and Memorials of the Gettysburg Campaign
Frey Farm
The Peter Frey Farm is located on the Taneytown Road, situated such that it was almost immediately behind the field of Pickett’s Charge. (It, in fact, appears in the famous cyclorama painting.) General Gibbon used the farm as his headquarters site during the battle. The barn is post-war, although it likely sits on the foundation of the original barn. The house dates to 1850 and was used as a field hospital; General Hancock was likely treated here after being wounded on July 3. A tenant named Brown was living at the farm in 1863.
This is sometimes referred to as the Basil Biggs Farm, after the black farmer who purchased the farm from Frey in 1865.