The Old Cyclorama Building

The Old Cyclorama Building was attached to the Gettysburg Visitor Center which operated from 1962 to 2008. It was a modernist concrete and glass Mission 66 building dedicated on November 19, 1962. The building’s function was to display the 1883 Paul Philippoteaux Battle of Gettysburg cyclorama. Richard Neutra was awarded the design, and began work in 1958. Orndorff Construction Company, Inc. was the fabricator.

In 2005, the Gettysburg Cyclorama painting was removed from the building for restoration (it was relocated to the Gettysburg Museum and Visitor Center in 2007), and the Cyclorama Building was closed to the public

While there were few objections to removing the Visitor Center (which came down in 2008), the cyclorama building was cited as being of significant historic and architectural significance and several major art and architecture groups objected to it being destroyed. After a court battle, the NPS prevailed, and in March 2013, the building was demolished.